Savannah!

For Jeanne’s bachelorette party, we met in Savannah this past weekend.  I’ve been to Savannah a couple of times before but had always stayed 30 minutes outside of downtown on Tybee Island at the beach.  This was the first time I was going to stay in historic downtown.  Jessie snagged this beautiful home right off of the corner of Chatham square, one of those delightful little parks scattered throughout Savannah.  I read once in Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil that these roundabouts/squares gave a leisurely, lazy quality to driving around Savannah.

We stayed in a lovely three bedroom house complete with patio and a grill out in the back.  I loved it because even though the bedrooms were tiny (you really could only fit a full size bed and nightstand in the bedroom I shared with Tiff), it reminded me of my grandparents’ house in Queens.

The first night, we grilled out.  Since I think I’m pretty much the only lady in the party who knows how to grill I was delegated grilling responsibility.  We prepared chicken and NY strips on the grill (with Portabella mushroom for myself).  It was also quite chilly so although we had originally planned to go out the first night, we ended up staying in and playing card games.  Jeanne’s mom introduced us to the card game The Pit, which plays off of Wall Street and trading.  We also played dice (always a must).

The next morning I went for an early morning run.  This was more of a “tourist run”, since I’m pretty sure I stopped every 100 feet or so to snap a photo on my phone.  

After the run, we headed out to Tybee Island to visit the beach and also have lunch on that side of town.  While we were on the shore, we saw that there were hundreds of people competing in a beach run of 2.8 kilometers.  We happened  to be right at the turnaround point.

After the beach, we headed over to A.J.’s Dockside restaurant that sits on a marsh, close to the main drag on Tybee Island.  I was good (still counting calories!) and only had a house salad topped with balsamic vinegarette with a side of cilantro potato salad.  Yummy.  Also I may or may not have eaten a chicken wing when Jessie offered me one of hers… I really did want to save up my calories (and meat) for Paula Deen’s restaurant later that evening.

Later that evening we did go to Lady and Sons (Paula Deen’s restaurant) for a 7 o’clock reservation.  Last time I came here a couple of years ago I was strict vegetarian so I did not partake of any of Paula Deen’s famous fried chicken.  This time, I decided to splurge and had the buffet dinner for $15.99.  I tried a piece of fried chicken and pot roast, and then piled my plate high with all kinds of delicious Southern side items including collard greens, green beans, black eyed peas, lima beans, sweet potatoes, mashed potatoes and macaroni and cheese.  Amazing.  It had been awhile since I had some good soul food so this was perfect.  I also topped it off with some Gooey Chocolate Butter Cake (yeah it’s as bad for you as it sounds) but it was delicious.  Then later that night we meandered down through the shops and to the Riverside area and enjoyed the rooftop bar called the Rocks.  This offered a fantastic view of the bridge and the river:

Our waiter was fabulous and even gave Jeanne a free shot of her choice when he found out this was a bachelorette weekend.   She opted for an Irish Breakfast, which I had never heard of before but it apparently is Jameson + butterscotch schnapps chased down with some OJ.  Our waiter heartily approved her choice, saying “It’s great because it tastes like pancakes!”  He swore it tastes like pancakes but Jeanne didn’t quite agree.

The rest of the evening we spent painting wine glasses and watching Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil (although we didn’t get to finish this movie since we were so wiped!).

Anyway, this trip was over far too soon.  Though it did give me plenty of ideas of where to travel to next… (Charleston, anyone?)

Wanderlust reignited.

One thought on “Savannah!

Leave a Reply

