Super Bowl Chili

I’ve never posted a recipe of my own before but since this one turned out so great (and I kind of made it up), I thought I’d share.  This is a vegetarian chili which I concocted for this past Super Bowl.  Let’s be honest… I really don’t care about pro football (I’m more of a college football gal) but I love any excuse to cook up a bunch of food.

I wish I had taken a picture of this but hopefully this doesn’t deter you from trying this out.  I’ve never tried using organic tomatoes and beans so I don’t know if that’s what made the difference but it sure was tasty!

Vegetarian Super Bowl Chili

1 medium onion, diced

2 green bell peppers, diced

2 cloves of garlic, minced

1 can of organic kidney beans

1 can of organic black beans

1 14.5 oz can of whole, peeled tomatoes

1 can of organic tomato sauce

1 package of Boca crumbles

2 chipotle peppers in adobo, finely chopped

Chili powder, Cumin, Cayenne Pepper

2 bay leaves

2 Tablespoons of Olive Oil

Green onions, diced for garnish

Heat the olive oil in a large pot on medium high heat.  Add the onion, green peppers and garlic and season with salt and pepper.  Allow for the onions and peppers to soften, then add the package of Boca crumbles.  If they’re frozen, you’ll have to mash them in the pot a little bit to separate it.  Since it’s pre-cooked you only have to make sure they’re thoroughly heated and mixed well with the onions and peppers.  Add the beans (undrained… I like adding the juice and the sodium is lower in organic beans), tomatoes, chipotle peppers and 2 bay leaves. Season generously with cumin, chili powder.  Add a dash of cayenne pepper. Bring to a boil, cover and then reduce heat to simmer.  Simmer on low heat for 2-3 hours.

Serve garnished with green onions.  Top with lite sour cream and cheese if you prefer.  We went vegan on this so no cheese and sour cream and I found that the chili was so tasty it simply didn’t need much.

This may sound a bit strange, but I actually throw in a 1-2 tablespoons of organic peanut butter in the pot after it’s been simmering for awhile. This is definitely optional and it may sound weird but trust me in chili, peanut butter is magic.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Super Bowl Chili

Leave a Reply

