Their Eyes Were Watching God

I completed my February goal (albeit a day late!) of reading Zora Neale Hurston’s Their Eyes Were Watching God, in honor of Black History Month. This was never required reading for me in high school English (along with Beowulf?) and I always wanted to read it. A large portion of the story takes place in Eatonville, the first official black community in the U.S. Incidentally, this town is less than 15 minutes away from where I currently live. I’d be interested to check out the historical sites sometime, especially since Zora Neale Hurston herself lived there. Add that to my Orlando bucket list.

My next goal is to read The Dubliners by James Joyce in honor of all things Irish for the month of March. My husband John is a huge James Joyce fan. I attempted to read Portrait of an Artist as a Young Man and stopped about a page and a half in. Couldn’t get into it. However, John recommended The Dubliners in lieu of Portrait. I trust his literary judgment so we will see how I take to Joyce this time…

I’m also now into Book 2 of the Game of Thrones books. Book 1 was partially to blame for my lateness in completing Their Eyes. 

April’s literary pick is currently undecided. I am wondering whether to go with an April Fools’ motif and read something comedic or go with National Poetry Month and read something poetic. Any ideas?

 

3 thoughts on “Their Eyes Were Watching God

  1. So was TEWWG worth reading? I didn’t realize that about Eatonville. I knew it was a really old historically black city but I didn’t know it was the first.

    Of course I’m in book 2 of GOT as well so I understand my reading list will be delayed. Thanks to the Orange County Public Library and a kindle

  2. Yes, I think it’s worth reading and it really could be read in a couple of days too, so it’s not a huge time commitment. One interesting tidbit is that she mentions Winter Garden, Altamonte Springs, Winter Park and Apopka in the book. Interesting glimpse of life in central Florida in the early 20th century.

    I’m enjoying Book 2 better than Book 1 of GOT for some reason!

  3. Pingback: Finally reading the Game of Thrones Books (I know, 13 years too late…) | randomness and ruminations

Leave a Reply

